Departments & Contacts

Departments and Contacts

Manchester City Galleries forms part of Manchester City Council’s Neighbourhoods Directorate.

Director Maria Balshaw m.balshaw@manchester.gov.uk
Director's Office Manager k.cope@manchester.gov.uk
Head of Operations Kate Farmery k.farmery@manchester.gov.uk

Manchester City Galleries is responsible for delivering services on two public sites:

  • Manchester Art Gallery
  • Gallery of Costume, Platt Hall

The Service has responsibility for three designated collections of fine art, decorative art and costume.

Manchester Art Gallery

Divisions of Manchester City Galleries

Programmes

The Programmes division consists of four main areas:

Collections Access

Responsible for the display of our art collections, which have been Designated as being of national importance.
Principal Manager: Collections Access
Ruth Shrigley r.shrigley@manchester.gov.uk

Exhibitions

Managing Manchester Art Gallery’s diverse programme of changing exhibitions.
Principal Manager: Exhibitions
Tim Wilcox t.wilcox@manchester.gov.uk

Learning

Responsible for programmes for schools, colleges, adult learners, families and community groups
Principal Manager: Learning
Ronan Brindley r.brindley@manchester.gov.uk

Family learning, adult learning and community development conta
ct: Louise Thompson l.thompson1@manchester.gov.uk

Services

The Services division has three main areas:

Audience development

Communications Manager (part Time) Jenny Davies j.davies@manchester.gov.uk

Communications Manager (part Time) Rachel Fitzgerald r.fitzgerald@manchester.gov.uk

Design Manager Ian Smith i.a.smith@manchester.gov.uk

Marketing Manager Jane Wilcox j.wilcox@manchester.gov.uk

Web Manager Martin Grimes m.grimes@manchester.gov.uk


Commercial: Retail; Catering; Venue hire, Weddings, Events, Commercial Filming; Licensing & Picture Library and Photography

Head of Commercial Operations, The Manchester Museum & Galleries Partnership: Marcus Chase m.chase@manchester.gov.uk

Contact for enquiries about Manchester Art Gallery Cafe and Restaurant: Catherine Pank 0161 235 8852 c.pank@manchester.gov.uk

Retail – Assistant Retail Manager: Lindsay McCulloch l.mcculloch@manchester.gov.uk

Venue hire, weddings and commercial filming

Marie Bergin 0161 235 8866
Yasmin Butt 0161 235 8862
Catherine Pank 0161 235 8852
eventsteam@manchester.gov.uk

Photography, Photographer Alan Seabright a.seabright@manchester.gov.uk

Visitor Services and Operations

Principal Manager: Visitor Services and Operations
Catriona Morgan catriona.morgan@manchester.gov.uk

Development

The Development division is responsible for fundraising activities for the service.

Head of Development, The Manchester Museums & Galleries Partnership, Jo Beggs jo.beggs@manchester.ac.uk 0161 275 7474
Development Manager (Individual Giving) Gwen Oakden g.oakden@manchester.gov.uk 0161 235 8814

Asset Management and Development

Responsible for the care, conservation and stewardship of our collections, and the management of Queens Park Conservation Studios.

Head of Asset Management Amanda Wallace a.wallace@manchester.gov.uk 0161 235 8827 and 0161 219 6729
Projects Assistant Bev Hogg b.hogg@manchester.gov.uk 0161 235 8803
Heritage Development Officer Ian Condon i.condon@manchester.gov.uk 0161 219 6720
Senior Conservator (and works on paper conservator) Claire Grundy c.grundy@manchester.gov.uk 0161 219 6727
Paintings Conservator Verity Lowdon v.lowdon@manchester.gov.uk 0161 219 6722 (currently on maternity leave, expected return August 2013)
Paintings Conservator (Mat Leave cover) Julia Jackson j.jackson2@manchester.gov.uk 0161 219 6722
Furniture and Frames Conservator Chris Russell c.russell1@manchester.gov.uk 0161 219 6721
Collection Care Officer Sarah Rainbow s.rainbow@manchester.gov.uk 0161 219 2337 (currently on maternity leave, expected return November 2013)
Senior Galleries Registrar Phillippa Wood p.wood1@manchester.gov.uk 0161 235 8890
Assistant Registrar Sian Millar s.millar2@manchester.gov.uk 0161 235 8829
Collection Information Officer John Peel j.peel@manchester.gov.uk 0161 235 8892

Gallery of Costume, Platt Hall

The Gallery of Costume houses our Designated collections of clothing and fashion accessories, one of the one of the largest collections in Britain. It is based at Platt Hall in Rusholme and is now open seven days a week.

Senior Curator: Gallery of Costume
Dr Miles Lambert m.lambert@manchester.gov.uk

Partnerships

The Partnerships team is responsible for managing delivery of the Arts Council Funded Major Partner Museums programme across the The Manchester Museums and Galleries Partnership (Manchester Art Gallery, the Whitworth Art Gallery and Manchester Museum); and for the Arts Council Funded Museum Development North West programme across The Manchester Museums and Galleries Partnership and the Cumbrian Museums Consortium (Lakeland Arts Trust, Wordsworth Trust and Tullie House Museum and Art Gallery Trust)

Performance & Monitoring Manager Brendan Parker, b.parker@manchester.gov.uk
Sustainable Improvement Officer David Craven, david.craven@manchester.ac.uk
Sustainable Development Officer Alex Bird, a.bird@manchester.gov.uk
Museum Development Officer North post currently vacant
Museum Development Officer South post currently vacant